After ticketing a parent who failed to put one child in a car seat and did not properly secure another child, Westminster police are urging parents to learn, and abide by, California’s car seat safety laws.
Officer Jason Stouffer was patrolling the area near Johnson Middle School earlier this month when he saw a vehicle pass by with an unsecured child in the back seat, police reported.
Stouffer pulled the driver over, and found a 4-year-old without a car seat and a 2-year-old improperly placed in a car seat, police reported.
After writing a ticket and informing the driver of car seat safety laws, Stouffer made the driver call someone to bring a car seat for the 4-year-old.
The incident prompted the Westminster Police Department to post an announcement on its Facebook page reminding drivers of car seat safety laws.
California law says:
Children under age 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
Children under age 8 who are 4-feet-9-inches or taller may be secured by a safety belt in the back seat.
Children who are at least 8 years old must be properly secured in an appropriate child passenger restraint system or safety belt.
Passengers who are 16 years old and over are subject to California’s Mandatory Seat Belt law.
Any parent who is not confident their car seat is strapped in properly can contact a local California Highway Patrol office and make an appointment for a lesson.
Visit www.chp.ca.gov to find a nearby office.